Negro I Wish You Would

Nigga I Wish You Would

Cir. 2011

Mixed medium on sketch pad. 8×11

This is the first piece in my Street Ballad series. I call this piece “Nigga I Wish You Would.” I was inspired to compose this piece when my former friend and roommate decided it’d be a good idea to pull a kitchen knife on me and make threatening gestures. What he DIDN’T know was that I don’t play that shit. I used an HB pencil to shade and figures while the background is done in red water color. I choose red because it captivates the urgency of the situation with this mother fucker drawing a knife on me and myself having to make a split decision whether to send his body to the morgue or the cripple home. I went with Crayola brand water color because it was 98 cents and came with a free paint brush. I feel that the 98 cents is also a metaphor for change. Like the change it took within me to ultimately not send this dude to the golden gates high in the sky.


Am i wrong?...Am i?..And the church said

