Conan Movie Trailer Review

Upon hearing there was a new Conan movie in production months ago, I immediately replied with a groan. Even as a youngster I was never a fan of Conan. The whole oiled, muscular guy running around in loincloth just never did it for me; which is weird because I love pro wrestling. Anywho, today I happened to come across the movie trailer so I said to myself “why not?”

I must confess, the trailer looked promising. The new Conan is much cooler looking than Arnold was and I assume his dark locks and overall look is more closely related to the novels. The only thing that irked me was the Caucasian woman who screams out “CONIN!” Immediately the “annoying” alarm went off in my brain because she mispronounced his name. She said it like his name was a surname. Like that episode in Seinfeld where Jerry and George are trying to figure out how Superman’s name would sound if it was his last name. She pronounced it “CO-NIN” with a short “i” sound when she should of yelled “CO-NAN” with an emphasis on the long “a.”

Kinda reminds me of the Scorpion King. Which is not an insult of any kind.

The second thing that bothered me was that her appearance didn’t fit the overall theme of the movie. From the 30 seconds of footage that I saw, everyone was tanned and grungy looking but this woman and her dainty, pale, skin and bright, red hair completely stood out from the rest of the populace. Now I’m not trying to be a reverse racist or anything but I really hope she’s a slave imported from a foreign land or something. It would make me feel a lot better.

All in all, I’d give Conan the movie trailer a positive review. Seems to be an epic tale of sword and sorcery and while I’m not going to spend 11 bucks to watch it in the theaters, I’d gladly watch a bootleg in the comfort of my own home.

5 responses to “Conan Movie Trailer Review

  1. hi coyote,
    i haven’t seen the trailer, but in defense of the red-headed woman, the pronounciation is most probably not wrong. if you know anybody with a last name of, say, Kaplan, you would shout out “Kap-lin” instead of “Kap-lan” wouldn’t you? or even “Wasserman”, would be shouted “Wasser-min”, as opposed to “Wasser-man”, despite the spelling. (i think maybe it’s a “white-man” thing. could be wrong……
    anyway, i love your posts. keep up the great creative stuff.
    a fan
    david

  2. I beloved up to you will obtain performed proper here. The caricature is attractive, your authored material stylish. nevertheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. sick for sure come further until now again since precisely the similar just about a lot often inside of case you protect this increase.

  3. Hello there, simply turned into aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it is really informative. I?m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of other folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Am i wrong?...Am i?..And the church said

