Sight After Bleth

*Bleth noun. 1. An extreme blindness resulting in loss of sight, emotion, and eventually death.

 

When I was young someone slung mud in my eyes blinding me of the truth.
I could not see love, happiness, or beautiful things
Only the pain and isolation that chaos brings.
All those who tried to wipe the mud from my eyes resulted only in soiling their own hands.
Tears flowed secretly for many years under the mask of the brown muck.

It wasn’t until I began to love others

that the radiance from their smiles formed cracks in the mud.
Until at last I was free.
It was the first time since I was a child that I regained the truth.
I could finally see.

 

 

Am i wrong?...Am i?..And the church said

