Planet G: Letter 5

Soil Diaries

   I awoke to the faint sounds of birds in the distance. A red orb bleeds through the darkness until I open my eyes and see the brightness of the sun. As I tried to rise to my feet I felt tiny hands gripping my arm beckoning me to stay put. I turned to look at my guest only to see a monkey. Then the monkey began to speak and I felt the darkness creeping up again.

I awoke for the second time and tried to shake away the dream about the talking monkey. A young woman came to my aid and gave me a warm, green, liquid to drink. She introduced herself as Melina and sat next to me, filling in the gaps of my memory. She told me how my raft washed up along the bank, how I was barely clinging to life, and how the monkey gods saved my life.

I looked at her as if she had lost her mind but she maintained her radiant smile. Either she was a great liar or a nut, either way it was time for me to move on. I guess she realized I needed more convincing because she whistled to the trees and a troop of spider monkeys began to rain upon our location. One of the monkeys had a pink ring attached to his tail and climbed a top Melina’s shoulder. It was the same monkey from my dream.

He began to talk to me just like before, his voice echoing inside my head. Somehow I didn’t freak out as a person might do if there was the voice of a monkey telepathically speaking to him. Instead I was overcome with a feeling of calm. The monkey called himself Suchi and informed me I was in Barranquilla. Suchi claimed to be a descendant of a great tribe that possessed the powers to control the elements.

Over time the tribe was displaced and their powers scattered to the winds. Suchi jumped off Melina’s shoulder and held my ring finger with his hands. “You too are of that tribe Giados,” he informed. Shuchi continued to educate me for the rest of the day. When he was finished he said “the seeds have been planted, now it is time for them to flourish.” A sharp “thwack” hit me in the back of the head and I was once again in the darkness.

May your conscious be as solid as the earth,

G

Am i wrong?...Am i?..And the church said

