Dragon Slayer (v2)

I knew a dragon once
In his prime I was told,
He was as wicked as they come
Devouring little girls whole
But I met this dragon in his decline

He no longer scorched the sky
He couldn’t even fly
At his best he could only puff smoke

As he cried in pain
This dragon had a disease
It was eating him from inside
And mentally he was made docile
Haunted by the victims of his past

Though old and decrepit
We fought side by side
Lived in the same castle
Ate the same meals
And every so often we’d sit atop the castle

With the other animals
Traded stories, and watched the world turn
So you see, it pained me dearly when I had to put a knife in his gut

There was no deception, no coyote tricks
Just an honest confrontation
And the coldness that comes after stealing a life
When I was a child
I was told that gallant men slayed monsters

But that night I felt like no hero
I was just a lost boy with tons of questions
Did I do the right thing
Does a soul once wicked deserve to be judged infinitely for its past
if it has chosen the path of redemption and remorse

So many questions, I had no answers to
And the only thing that survived in this tragic tale
Was the burning disdain for the damsel
that made me kill the dragon

Am i wrong?...Am i?..And the church said

