Dear Mr. Hightower

Earlier today while doing some Spring cleaning with my Pa, i stumbled upon some of my antiqutated journals. Randomly opening the page to a tattered, black, book, its spine held together only by ligaments of string, i found a heart felt letter i am compelled to share. To anyone listening. This letter means a lot to me because they are the words of my friend who is no longer here with me. He wasn’t that great at writing but i was so i helped him uut on paper the words he hed in his heart.

Dear Steve Harvey,

My name is Cantrell. I am a student at Stephenson Middle School.I am in the 8th grade and going to the 9th next year. I was listening to the radio one day when I heard you talking about Tavis Smiley and Cornel West.

The conversation confused me cuz I like all 3 of you guys and don’t understand why you guys are fighting each other. It hurts me to see the man I grew up knowing as Mr. Hightower at odds with other strong, positive, intelligent black men who I discovered in y teen years like Dr. Cornel West.

I know that you have millions of fans & you’ll never see this letter but I really hope you do because while most kids had dads, I didn’t. Watching your show as a kid helped instill in me the ethics & respect I needed to become a man. In a way, you were like the father I never had.

One day I hope to meet you in person to shake your hand and tell you how much of an inspiration you’ve been to me but until then, my birthday wish today is for all the black men role models to stop fighting each other and unite like Puff & Snoop did on your show. To show the younger generation how its done.

-Cantrell Stevenson

Am i wrong?...Am i?..And the church said

